Pizza and beer

A classic combo that seems pretty much perfect for a Sunday.

We didn’t go out of town for a variety of reasons, and it was a little sad, but I think we made up for it with basketball, a tempeh parmesan sub for me, some cookies, and getting a lot of things done that I’ve been putting off for too long.

By the way, did you know it was March? I didn’t until I realized that Matt had changed the calendar. To celebrate the month that brings us the Madness of  the NCAA men’s basketball tournament, I made pizza for dinner.

whole wheat flatbread pizza with mushrooms and tomatoes

skillet flatbread pizza with mushrooms and tomatoes

No picture of my actual piece because it looked gross. We had this situation where the crust was extra doughy (basically wet), and it was really hard to tell if it was actually undercooked or if it was from the juiciness of the totally beautiful and delicious hydroponic purple cherokee tomatoes that I used in place of sauce. I’m going with the latter, because I followed Mark Bittman’s instructions for the flatbread exactly (and I never do that with recipes), and I’m almost positive it was done before the pizza-making happened. Either way, I thought it tasted awesome and would make it again tomorrow. Matt, not so much, so I think I’m going to have to give it a few weeks so that he forgets the wet dough factor. Whatever, it’s just flour and water. How much damage could that really do? My brother’s college roommate used to eat raw ground beef and he’s still alive.

On the side, some of this:

oatmeal stout

oatmeal stout

I like this brewery and I love oatmeal stout, so it’s pretty awesome. I made my own six pack at the beer store again last night, and came home with three more vanilla porters, a honey beer that I tried last night (good but a little light for me), and two different oatmeal-based beers. Sadly, no more cocoa porters, and that was my favorite.

I’m also about to dig out the last of the oatmeal/raisin/chocolate chip cookies to ease my transition into the work week.

Leave a Reply

