Rewind

What is with my inability to write consistently? I blame the weather. Last week was bookended by a tornado watch and several hail storms on Monday and a few inches of snow on Saturday. I also got a one inch wide bolt stuck in my tire. But that wasn’t weather-related. Just bad luck.

So, I think the best thing to do is to pretend that last week didn’t happen at all. You’re only missing pasta, anyway.

Last night, I threw this together and it turned out to be excellent:

bulgur/couscous/chickpea/artichoke heart/feta bowl

bulgur/couscous/chickpea/artichoke heart/feta bowl

Say that five times fast. I could have added more, but then the snappy title would’ve gotten too long.

Here’s how to make this one:

  1. Cook 1/2 cup bulgur in about 1 cup of water for 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a skillet over medium. Add a can of drained and rinsed chickpeas (or 2 cups cooked). Cook until heated through, stirring often.
  3. Add a few shakes of ground cumin, some crushed red pepper, and a clove of minced garlic.
  4. Drain a 15 ounce can of artichoke hearts. Add them to the skillet. Stir everything together. Stir until heated through.
  5. Add 1 cup of boiling water to 1/2 cup of whole wheat couscous and cover for five minutes.
  6. Put everything together. Add some salt, black pepper, more cumin, 1/2 a lemon worth of lemon juice, a glug of olive oil, and stir. A lot.
  7. Add feta. Lots of it.

Tonight I made a veggie pasta sauce and then did a Dave Farmar yoga podcast. I think I might actually be getting stronger for the first time ever because I didn’t feel like I was going to die quite as early in the class.

Anyway, while I was doing yoga, Matt cooked up some noodles and by the time I got done, dinner was waiting for me.

veggie-licious

veggie-licious

Here’s the recipe:

  1. Saute a bunch of chopped veggies in olive oil (I used an onion, two carrots, a small zucchini, and about a cup of frozen spinach).
  2. Add some spices and a can of crushed tomatoes. Usually I also like to add some tomato paste, but I didn’t have any. Simmer the whole deal for however long you want.
  3. Cook pasta.
  4. Eat pasta with sauce.
One Response to Rewind

  1. jenngirl says:

    I’m totally having issues writing consistently lately too! I’ll blame the weather too…

Leave a Reply

