Return of the packets

Okay, technically these are flounder and vegetable parcels, but let’s get real: chicken packets without the chicken. I also didn’t use flounder, so I think I can call this recipe whatever I want.

cod and vegetable packets over couscous

cod and vegetable packets (de-packeted and served over couscous

I did not love this food. Matt seemed to, which is great, but I thought it was bland. This is entirely my fault for not following the directions to the recipe and for forgetting to buy a lemon. I honestly think the lemon would have made all the difference.

Part of the problem for me was that this is a recipe best undertaken in a larger kitchen. Or at least one that has counters and/or a sink near the stove. There was a lot of carrying fish, calling Matt to help me, etc. I think that made me even more disappointed when the whole thing basically tasted like nothing to me. Maybe it was the substitution of cod for flounder? I don’t know. The seafood counter at my grocery store didn’t have flounder, so I looked for another firm white fish that was wild-caught in the US. This was the only one that fit the bill.

At least I had a really awesome Post-Arthritis Walk lunch today and a breakfast cafe a few blocks from our house. Vegetable and feta omelet plus fruit. And a bite of Matt’s french toast with caramel cream cheese topping. Yes, it was just as good as you’d imagine.

I think all of that, and the Lake Champlain 70% dark chocolate truffle I had as an afternoon snack (really a reward for being brave and cutting off all of my hair) really made up for any lack of dinner flavor.

But I’m still going to try the lemon next time.

Leave a Reply

