I just can’t get enough of this dal

I try to limit my posts about repeat meals (which, honestly, is increasingly difficult now that every meal I eat is some kind of variation of rice and beans), but this dal is just so good I had to make it again. Fortunately, this coincided with May’s Hobo Monday over at Thursday Night Smackdown (fyi: I wouldn’t click on that right now if your boss can see your computer. Or your ten year old daughter who is really good at spelling.).  And, what do you know, this week’s featured ingredient is chickpeas. How could I make anything else?

I mean, this is seriously good

I mean, this is seriously good

I did a few things differently this time. For instance, I actually followed the recipe a little more closely and threw the onion and ginger into the food processor for a few seconds. I thought, why not? It requires very little effort on my part, really. I had to chop the onion less, which means less crying, and Matt does the dishes so I don’t have to worry about that. It also made the whole thing a little saucier, which I liked.

I have a lingering fear of putting something red in the food processor and having it explode all over the kitchen. And you know it’s carpeted in there for no reason that I can even begin to comprehend, and I think that a giant red stain would pretty much guarantee that we wouldn’t get our security deposit back.

Which is to say, I still used crushed tomatoes instead of processing them.

Okay, in order to be eligible for Hobo Monday, this meal has to serve 2 people for under $5 or 4 for under $10. This made 4 servings, so I’ll say it served 4, but all 4 of them are the 2 of us: 2 of us today for dinner and 2 of us tomorrow for lunch. Got it? ETA: Okay, it actually made 3 servings. What can I say? We like to eat a lot. I think that technically gives me $7.50 to work with.

  • 2 cans of chickpeas (I know, I know, it would have been cheaper to use dried; I did cut myself on one of the cans so I’ve been punished) 2 x $1.15 = $2.30
  • 1 can of crushed tomatoes $.79
  • 1 yellow onion $1.00 (I forgot to look at this but I think this is a solid, if conservative, estimate)
  • I cup of brown basmati rice (1/5 of a bag) .2 x $3.69 = $.74
  • 1 T Patak’s mild curry paste  .0625 x $5.99 = $.37
  • pantry staples (ground ginger and olive oil)

Total: $5.20

Unfortunately, I can’t find the receipt from last week’s grocery shop, and the Dillons website is all but worthless, so I’m going to have to update this later with actual prices. I feel pretty confident that it’s going to come in under budget, though.

After reading the post in which I chronicled my first experience making this recipe, I realized that I made this on a Monday last time, too. There’s something about kickboxing class and the imaginary punching and the oddly incongruous aerobics-y grapevines that makes me want to eat this.

I used it as a reward this time. I was so against going to the gym, but in the end I couldn’t think of a really good excuse. My RA isn’t flaring up, I got more than 5 hours of sleep, my gym bag was packed and in the car, Terminator 2 isn’t coming from Netflix for 3-5 days. Plus, the rage has to go somewhere. And Matt really prefers if it doesn’t go home.

3 Responses to I just can’t get enough of this dal

  1. That does look REALLY good. 🙂 I should try it out.

  2. Livia says:

    This sounds and looks delicious. I love garbanzo beans so I will have to try it.

  3. […] over at See Food made some seriously good dal that is, apparently, to be kept a secret from all of us. PICTURES, […]

Leave a Reply

