Pizzata

This was probably the messiest, cheesiest, most ridiculously good frittata I’ve made.

like pizza, but with eggs. actually, pizza with eggs sounds really good right now.

like pizza, but with eggs. actually, pizza with eggs sounds really good right now.

It was supposed to be a linguine/mushroom/basil fritatta from a cookbook I got at the library this weekend, but the pasta pot was dirty and I was too lazy to clean it. Plus, Matt convinced me that my normal frittata, sans pasta, was excellent enough on its own. Which means that he also didn’t want to clean it. So, we had a mushroom and swiss frittata.

It was simple: 10 oz of sliced mushrooms, cooked in olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium for a few minutes; 4 eggs and 2 egg whites (fresh eggs from the farmer’s market; awesome); some random pizza seasoning that I have from the pizza soup I made months ago. When I make my frittatas, I cook the vegetables, add the eggs, cook over medium-low for about 10 minutes, then add cheese and throw the whole thing under the broiler for 5 minutes.

I added so much cheese this time that the whole thing was covered with a nice sheen. It was like eating at a Mexican restaurant.  So I guess I managed to have a little bit of Cinco de Mayo without the  chips, the effort of driving, the fried ice cream, and the 12 hours in a fetal position whispering, “Why couldn’t I say no to the ice cream.”

Now I really want some ice cream.

Leave a Reply

