Recipes for weird kinds of food

Now that I know people have gotten here by searching for “recipes for weird kinds of food: for lun” and “foods that put people in a bad mood,” I feel like my work here is done.

I honestly don't know that I have anything more to give.

I honestly don't know that I have anything more to give.

Moving on.

Because of some grand cosmic joke, I’ve been blessed not only with Rheumatoid Arthritis, Raynaud’s disease, unexplained lung muscle weakness, asthma, bursitis, and low white blood cell counts; I also get to have totally ridiculous seasonal allergies. And by “seasonal,” I mean, “whenever the entire outside world isn’t frozen.” Today was particularly bad, and I spent half of it leaking from the head, and half of it feeling like the whole thing was going to blow. So, proactive person that I am, I did some research on how I could cure myself, and apparently people who live in Crete never have outdoor allergies. The study I read attributed this to their eating habits, and suggested that eating a Mediterranean diet might be one remedy for severe allergies.

So, I made tabbouli for dinner.

tabbouli with celery and red peppers

tabbouli with celery and red peppers

I saw a tabbouli recipe the other day that intrigued me by calling for red peppers and celery instead of tomatoes and cucumbers. And balsamic vinegar in addition to the traditional lemon and olive oil dressing. Basically, brilliant.

I threw mine on a tortilla with a few scoops of hummus and called it dinner.

it was so full of goodness that it kind of collapsed

it was so full of goodness that it kind of collapsed

Unfortunately, I’m already hungry again.  Oh well, at least I’m going to wake up in the morning completely cured of my allergies.

Right?

2 Responses to Recipes for weird kinds of food

  1. Livia says:

    People who grew up in the country around lots of animals also have fewer allergies, or so I’ve heard. It is you parents’ fault, they didn’t raise you around enough stinky pooping animals.

  2. Dayna says:

    Ooo, that looks really good. Did it work?

    I’ve heard from lots of people that eating honey from your area will help you develop allergy resistance. It’s never seemed to work for me, though.

Leave a Reply

