Legume experiment #2: beans on a pizza?

My mom is a really solid cookbook and recipe spotter, and a few weeks ago, she sent me a recipe for white bean and spinach pizza.

Do I love pizza? Yes. Are beans my only source of protein? Pretty much. And so, I made it tonight, when I was looking for an easy meal to cook because I’ve done something to make my back spasm out of control. Like I don’t have enough problems.

I didn’t have any pre-baked crust, and I wasn’t about to make any from scratch, so I went the easiest way I know: the way of the pita.

Here’s how it happened.

1 can of cannellini beans + 3 cloves of garlic
1 can of cannellini beans + 3 cloves of garlic
became this, which takes the place of tomato sauce
became this, which takes the place of tomato sauce
three pitas, sliced in half so that one pita looks like two (the pitas I buy are too thick to make a decent pizza crust)
three pitas, sliced in half so that one pita looks like two (the pitas I buy are too thick to make a decent pizza crust)
all dressed up with the bean paste, spinach, rehydrated dried tomatoes, and mozzarella, baked for 9 minutes at
all dressed up with the bean paste, spinach, rehydrated dried tomatoes, and mozzarella, baked for 9 minutes at 350
3 Responses to Legume experiment #2: beans on a pizza?

  1. Livia says:

    Oh my goodness! If only I had a food processor! That looks so yummy! And!!!!

  2. Kellene says:

    Wow, how did it work out? Looks really good! I have a recipe for bean/wheat bread, I wonder if it would work as pizza dough, too… http://tinyurl.com/qxmm73

  3. Jenny says:

    Livia-
    You could totally just mash the beans up with a fork or a potato masher or something like that. It might even be better a little chunkier. OR, you could borrow our food processor. I can basically guarantee that Matt wouldn’t mind.

    Kellene-
    I guess I didn’t actually address the important part: taste. It was really good. The bean puree was a little on the bland side, so if I do it again, I’d add maybe a little olive oil and some rosemary or some kind of other herb to give it a little extra flavor.

    And I think that recipe could be awesome as pizza dough!

Leave a Reply

