Spring, without the pollen

This week has been kind of intense, so I’ve gotten a little backed up.

On Monday, I went to Lawrence, and got to enjoy one of the many delightful restaurants they have to offer, Zen Zero. Because of some scheduling intricacies, we ended up eating dinner at the early bird time of 4pm. I was all full of catered cookies and brownies and such, so I really wanted something light. Like soup and spring rolls. But, when I asked if they could make the spring rolls vegetarian, the waiter revealed that they couldn’t because they come pre-made. Having worked in the restaurant industry, I realize that lots of food comes pre-made to some extent. However, I prefer to have these realities hidden from me as a customer. So, even though I could have eaten the crab, I refused. On principle.

Or, I changed my mind. I don’t know, it’s been a few days.

Instead, I had some kind of tofu thing with broccoli and peanut sauce that was pretty much the exact opposite of “something light.” It was like they dumped a jar of peanut butter over the dish and maybe threw something spicy in there. So, pretty much, perfect.

But I still wanted some spring rolls, so I made my own.

not pre-made

not pre-made

I found them surprisingly easy. And delicious. I just washed some broccoli slaw, shredded carrots, and some mixed bean sprouts, had Matt slice up an avocado, and went to town. The weirdest part is dipping the spring roll wrapper into water, because it feels a little strange. That might be partially because we don’t have a bowl wide enough to accommodate the diameter of the wrappers, so I had to do a little magic. All’s well that ends well, right? I learned pretty quickly that you shouldn’t wrap from the center, but from one side or the other. It gave me a whole new perspective on burrito-wrapping.

2 Responses to Spring, without the pollen

  1. littlesparrowknits says:

    How on earth do you pre-make spring rolls? The rice paper gets all dried out and crunchy if they sit for any length of time. Hmmm. Or were they the fried kind?

    Those look yum. What kind of dipping sauce?

    – Dayna

  2. Jenny says:

    Dayna-
    My thoughts exactly! And they weren’t fried, because someone else at the table got them.

    Dipping sauce was a little peanut butter, hot water, soy sauce, rice vinegar, and sriracha. Yum.

Leave a Reply

