Not a salad

I thought this would be one of the more expensive meals on our meal plan this week, but it looked like it was so worth it. I made Blackened Tofu Slabs and Succotash Salsa from Bryant Terry’s awesome cookbook Vegan Soul Kitchen. It’s a really well put-together book, with lots of familiar Southern recipes, just with fresher, healthier ingredients.

blackening was paprika, garlic powder, cayenne, cumin, salt, pepper

blackening was paprika, garlic powder, cayenne, cumin, salt, pepper

all dredged and cooking up

all dredged and cooking up

This took a lot of pans and plates and things, but it was a fairly simple meal to prepare. The two elements go fantastically together, with the lightness of the salsa balancing out the spice of the tofu. I served the salsa on top of my tofu slab, because Bryant Terry told me to. And if someone who gives you a soundtrack and a film for almost every recipe in his cookbook tells you to put the salsa on top of the tofu, well, you do it. Although he also told me to make quinoa on the side, and I didn’t because I was out of pots. I hope he doesn’t find out.

the finished product

the finished product

the breakdown

1 block extra firm tofu = $2.69
1/2 cup lima beans = $.13
1 cup corn = $.70
1/2 red onion = $.29
1/2 can diced tomatoes = $.32
1 T lemon juice = $.05
cilantro = $.05
and some pantry staples (paprika, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cumin, cayenne, olive oil)

grand total = $4.23

So actually? Not that expensive at all. Though I don’t think I can call this four servings with a clean conscience, as Matt has already finished off the salsa and there’s only one piece of tofu
left. Let’s say it’s about 3. Which brings it to $1.41 a serving.

This really makes up for the confidence I lost when I went $7.32 over my grocery budget today.

Leave a Reply

