Ahead of the game.

This afternoon, one of my co-workers offered to cover my evening shift and I thought about it for about negative point five seconds before I said yes.

That meant that I came home to an already prepared dinner and I got to sit around reading for an hour before the NBA draft, luxuriating in the fact that I didn’t have to cook anything. This must be what it feels like to be prepared.

It shouldn’t surprise anyone that I couldn’t handle all that excess time, so I filled it by cooking dinner for tomorrow. It’s kind of a sickness. In my defense, though, I’ll only have about 20 minutes to prepare and consume dinner tomorrow, so it’s good that I got it off my plate. Now I can use that entire time to savor the Corn and Edamame-Sesame Salad from Veganomicon.

Anyway, the Smitten Kitchen-inspired peanut sesame noodles turned out well, except that I forgot to toast the sesame noodles and toss them in. Oh well. I toasted some extra for tomorrow’s dinner, just to make up for it.

soba + veggies + tofu + peanut sauce over spinach

soba + veggies + tofu + peanut sauce over spinach

The love I have for peanut butter cannot be described. I like other nut and seed butters – almond, cashew, pecan, sunflower, what have you – but peanut butter is my desert island food. Still, I was a little nervous about how thick the sauce would get with as much peanut butter as the recipe indicated, so I cut it down a good bit, to about 3T. I’ll have a few spoonfuls from the jar later to make up for the deficit.

the breakdown

8 oz soba noodles = $2.79
1 red bell pepper = $.99
2 carrots = $.15
3T peanut butter = $.32
1T sesame oil = $.40
and some pantry staples (crushed red pepper, rice vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, ground ginger)

grand total = $4.65

Four servings at $1.16 a serving. I’m kicking myself for paying $10+ for various versions of this dish at restaurants. Curses! I had mine over spinach again (it’s still really hot out and it was on the verge of wilting. Actually, so am I).

On this side: my new favorite summer treat.

any day over 95 calls for a shandy

any day over 95 calls for a shandy

Our recipe: mix equal parts beer and lemonade in a pitcher. Chill. Enjoy. We used High Life and Country Tyme, but you might not be as classy. That’s fine. Just make sure it’s a beer that’s lighter in color, like a wheat beer or some kind of lager-style beer. I could have the lemonade myself but that’s like 3 extra steps, and I’ve had a long week.

5 Responses to Ahead of the game.

  1. Livia says:

    High Life and Country Tyme?! That makes me giggle! I would have to go for the Old Style, if I were to make it, definitely classier than High Life. Sounds yummy though.

  2. Jenny says:

    Options are unfortunately limited at Ray’s Apple Market. It would be crazy good with some Radina’s lemonade, though. Mmmm.

  3. Dayna says:

    Ooo, I love that recipe! I made it several times last summer. Thanks for the reminder that it exists because I should make it soon!

  4. Dayna says:

    Also, why do 8 oz of soba noodles cost $2.79 in Kansas, but $4.59 in NC? Relative distance to Asia?

    And finally, happy early birthday!!

  5. Jenny says:

    Dayna-
    Yes, this recipe is awesome. I’ve made similar ones but I think this is the best of all.

    I couldn’t believe they were that cheap, either. They’re 4.99 at the Kroger affiliate where we shop, but they’re 2.79 at the co-op. Which is pretty much exactly the opposite of everything else. But I’m still jealous of your mustard greens for .59. So maybe it all evens out!

Leave a Reply

