It’s summertime, and the risotto’s easy.

I’ve been back from the land of plenty for a few days now, but it’s been kind of a hard week for me, pain-wise, so we’ve been sticking with old standards. Like pasta with white beans and vegetables, chickpea dal with some awesome fresh tomatoes, pizza, and burritos.

Tonight, I powered through and cooked something that actually took effort: risotto. I usually use barley for risotto, but when I was visiting my family, I couldn’t find barley that wasn’t the quick cooking kind at Trader Joe’s, so I decided to go outside of my comfort zone and actually make real risotto, with arborio rice. And, despite many less than stellar experiences with rice-based risotto in the past, I thought it was awesome. I recreated the recipe I made for my parents tonight, with a few modifications.

The inspiration for this came from a recipe that Dayna sent me a few weeks/months back, a corn and tomato risotto that uses milk and water instead of broth. I still haven’t tried that method, and I meant to tonight, but I made dinner immediately after waking up from a four hour nap, so it slipped my mind. It’s on my list, though.

A Midsummer Night's Risotto

A Midsummer Night's Risotto

summer risotto

you need:

  • olive oil, probably 1-2T
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/3C dry white wine
  • a little over 1C arborio rice
  • 4C vegetable broth
  • kernels from 2 ears of corn (this corn was local and awesome)
  • chopped tomatoes (I used about 1C cherry tomatoes from the farmer’s market, halved)
  • small yellow squash, grated or diced very small (extra points for me since this was also local)
  • ~1/2C shredded Parmesan cheese

to do:

  1. Put broth in a saucepan, heat over medium.
  2. Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. When hot, add garlic. Stir and cook until fragrant.
  3. Add rice to large pot. Stir occasionally, for about 2 minutes, until rice is well coated, adding oil if needed.
  4. Add white wine. Stir occasionally until absorbed.
  5. Add 1/2C broth, stirring until absorbed. Repeat until all broth is gone. It’s very soothing.
  6. When liquid is nearly absorbed, add cheese. Stir until melted. Add vegetables and cook, stirring often, until heated through.
  7. Eat it. Love it.
One Response to It’s summertime, and the risotto’s easy.

  1. Dayna says:

    Yum! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

