Killer tofu

Miss me?

Rhetorical question!

Did you ever watch Doug? It reminds me of sleepovers at my friend Cassie’s apartment in elementary school. Her apartment had Zax lightswitch plates and her dad made breakfast on Saturday mornings. It was awesome and made me really want to live in the apartment. On an unrelated note, I also aspired to be a cashier at that point in my life. Having now lived both of those dreams, I know they both suck. But I still had a lot of fun walking up and down the cash register aisles at Office Depot.

Anyway, one of those Saturday mornings I spent at Cassie’s, we watched an episode of Doug featuring awesome mythical band The Beets’ seminal hit, “Killer Tofu,” which I loved, even though I probably didn’t eat tofu until maybe a dozen years later.

Take note of awesome lines like “I can eat my sugar cereal, but it makes my teeth bacterial.”

There’s a point to this, beyond random childhood memories.

Tonight’s dinner had some killer tofu in it.

sweet and spicy stirfry

sweet and spicy stir fry

This was an eggplant, red pepper, and tofu stirfry with a generous helping of crushed red pepper and garlic, balanced out with a little rice wine vinegar and ground ginger. I was pretty nervous about the eggplant, but since I’ve been enjoying it so much roasted and baked, I had to give it a shot. Success! I’m looking forward to having it again for lunch tomorrow.

It more than made up for yesterday’s disappointingly bland chili, and left me with enough room for a slice of this awesome apple cake I made last night. I’d share a picture, but they’re fairly awful. I need more light bulbs, stat. But, seriously, I’m two for two with cakes from The Food Librarian, and I keep finding more recipes I want to try. Food + librarians = obviously a good match.

3 Responses to Killer tofu

  1. presleyanne says:

    I totally watched Doug and I totally remember that song. I haven’t gotten myself to like eggplant yet but I can do tofu, so maybe in honor of the song I’ll try to cook with it. Maybe I can even work some beets in.

  2. Oh! I need to make your tofu dish! It looks delicious!

    And I’m glad you liked the apple cake! I think I need to make that tonight. It is such a fall fun one! And thanks for the shout out 🙂 – mary the food librarian

  3. Jenny says:

    presleyanne-
    I’m glad someone else has fond memories of The Beets! I’ve actually never made beets before, so maybe I’ll let them inspire me to be brave and give them a try.

    mary-
    We loved this cake! With so many awesome apples in season right now, it was the perfect baking experiment. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

