Winter weather = winter squash.

We had another cold day, so I cranked up the oven and stovetop again to heat things up in here. The heat has come on about 3 times since yesterday, and we woke up to an even colder room this morning than we did yesterday. Awesome!

This dinner kept things toasty for a little while at least.

barley risotto-stuffed winter squash

barley risotto-stuffed winter squash

I made the barley risotto the same way I usually do, though this time I had no broth so I made a quick Parmesan broth by boiling some water with a Parmesan rind I threw in the freezer a few weeks ago. I let them simmer together for about 10 minutes, took out the rind, and got started.

While the risotto was cooking, I roasted a (halved, with seeds and pulp removed) acorn squash that I picked up for 50 cents at the farmer’s market yesterday. This guy was pretty little, so I just rubbed it with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roasted at 375* for about 50 minutes, until the skin pierced easily with a knife and both halves looked dangerously close to collapsing. I did the first 20 minutes face up and the last 30 face down.

I always like roasted acorn squash but this was especially good, I think because I roasted it longer than I have in the past, and because the olive oil helped it brown up nicely. Also, I didn’t have to bother adding vegetables to the risotto, since I was serving it in a vegetable. So clever.

Plus, the window in the kitchen actually fogged up while I was cooking. I think it’s going to be a long winter.

Leave a Reply

