The world’s slowest quickbread

Today at the co-op a tiny little pumpkin caught my eye and I was so enchanted by its cuteness that I guess I picked it up and carried it around the store and eventually bought it.

So then I got home and had a pumpkin to deal with.

My new issue of Vegetarian Times came on Friday, and one of the features is on baking with natural sweeteners. I went right to it and saw a recipe for a maple pumpkin bread that sounded pretty awesome, and I thought of that today when I came home with my wee little pie pumpkin.

The pumpkin was probably 2 or 3 pounds, and I wish I had taken some “in-process” pictures because I actually split a pumpkin in two for the first time in my life. There’s so little flesh, it’s kind of ridiculous, and the pulp was so opposed to being scraped that it probably took me a good 15 minutes to clean it out.

I baked the two halves for about an hour at 350*, until the skin was brown and easily pierced. Once the halves cooled, I scooped out the flesh and pureed it in the food processor. All that effort, and the entire yield was only a little over a cup. Luckily, that’s all I needed, but next time I’ll know that cuter isn’t always better when it comes to pumpkins for roasting and pureeing. Live and learn.

At least I have a bag of roasted pumpkin seeds now.

Oh, and this killer loaf of bread.

its awesomeness could not be fully captured

its awesomeness could not be fully captured

So, let’s total up the time this (admittedly delicious) baking project took:

Cutting and cleaning: 20 minutes
Baking the pumpkin: 60 minutes
Cooling, scooping, pureeing: 20 minutes
Recipe prep: 15 minutes
Baking the bread: 55 minutes
Grand total = 170 minutes

Yes, that’s right. Almost 3 hours of my Sunday.

But, it was actually pretty fun. And it gave me a chance to cook some black beans. And a great excuse to skip out on cooking dinner.

Leave a Reply

