I’m back.

Oh, hey.

I could make a lot of excuses about why I haven’t been blogging but, instead, I’m going to be honest. Which is actually way more interesting because the truth is that back in November the power supply on our laptop caught on fire. Fortunately, Matt was there, and he saved the day. I don’t know what I would have done if we had lost the 4 million pictures of food on the laptop AND all of our earthly belongings all in one day.

Speaking of our earthly belongings, I’ve also been a little bit distracted by the fact that we moved ourselves and all of said belongings across the country last week. And moving from the Midwest in the middle of December is a world of stress all its own. Because, well, have you ever seen that show Ice Road Truckers? Because now I have. In real life.

I’m totally kidding. The drive, while excruciatingly long, was fine. We managed to hit a window between snowstorms that really couldn’t have worked out better. Plus, we paid someone else to move about 99% of our stuff for us, so that was a bonus.

Which is a long way to say, I’m back!

With the holidays and everything happening right after we moved, we’ve really only spent a few days in our new place, and I’ve only cooked two dinners here. I wish I had taken a picture of the first one, a sweet potato risotto that was truly awesome. My mom gave us two big bags of sweet potatoes, so I’m sure I’ll be making it again. So don’t you worry.

Tonight’s dinner was probably more along the lines of what we’ll be eating on a regular basis, as we’re watching our pennies these days in the wake of the move.

super easy split pea soup

super easy split pea soup

A few things I’d like to point out about this picture:

  1. My favorite North Carolina beer in the top right, purchased at the neighborhood grocery store
  2. The fact that we ate dinner at a table, which is something we haven’t been able to do in our own home for over 2 years

It’s the simple things, really

Super Easy Split Pea Soup (serves 3ish)

you need:

  • olive oil for the pot
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced small
  • 2 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup of split peas, rinsed and picked over (these were green but I’ve also made a really good one with yellow split peas)
  • 2 cups of vegetable broth and 2 cups of water (or another combination adding up to 4 cups of liquid)
  • bay leaf
  • more water, as needed

To do:

  1. Cook carrots, celery, and onions in a soup pot over medium heat with garlic and olive oil until the onions are almost translucent, about 8 or 10 minutes, adding water as needed
  2. Add split peas, water, broth, salt, pepper, and a bay leaf
  3. Bring everything to a boil and give it a good stir
  4. Cover and reduce heat to low, simmering for about 45 minutes until the soup is thick and the peas fall apart (if you use yellow split peas, this takes about an hour)
  5. Serve and enjoy

I thought about giving you the shockingly low cost of this meal for us, but my mom actually gave us a bag of split peas, so it wouldn’t really be a true representation, as it was basically free. If you buy your own split peas, you can add about 50 cents to that.

2 Responses to I’m back.

  1. Donna says:

    Sounds delicious, but, CRAP IT MAKES ME MISS YOU.

    Sorry to shout on your blog. I’m glad to hear you’re settling in and that the drive proved non-traumatic. Email me your new details if you get a chance.

  2. Aunt Barb says:

    YAY! Glad to have you back (online AND in NC!) …and to see food other than the cookies I’ve been dining on for the last few weeks… Of course, peas would not have been my choice for the first food viewing since your return…

Leave a Reply

