potato lentil chili

potato lentil chili

I’m not going to apologize for my long absence, because you probably don’t care. Unless you’re my mom. And I apologized to her months ago.

2010 was a much longer year than we anticipated. There’s a lot I could say about it, but I’d rather just move right along. And now we’re in a new year, in a new house, with a human-sized kitchen, an oven that couldn’t qualify as easy-bake, and (knock on wood) apparently reliable internet access. And, like magic, I find myself suddenly wanting to cook again.

This is not the fanciest or most exciting recipe to rechristen See Food, but then, I’m not the fanciest or most exciting person. I made this today, with the goal of having some easily reheatable lunches later this week.

potato lentil chili (serves 4-6)

ingredients

  • 1 T oil (I used coconut because it was on sale)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced (or to taste)
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1+ T ground cumin
  • 4C water, plus more as needed
  • a handful of lentils
  • 3/4C corn
  • 2 medium potatoes, diced (already cooked)

to do

  1. heat oil over medium high heat in a large pan
  2. add garlic and stir until fragrant
  3. add bell pepper and onion, stirring frequently for about 8 minutes, then add cumin
  4. add 4C water and lentils
  5. bring to a boil and then reduce heat to medium for 30 minutes
  6. add corn, potatoes, and more water (if needed) [if your potatoes aren’t cooked, add them with the pepper and onion in step 3]
  7. simmer for 15 minutes, then serve


2 Responses to potato lentil chili

  1. Donna says:

    I care, but you don’t owe me an apology. I gave a little happy shout when I saw a See Food update in my reader. It startled Penny and she almost fell off the couch. Karma for all the times she leaned on you, I’m sure.

  2. Dayna says:

    I, too, gave a little shout when I saw you had updated! Yay. I’m so glad you’re in a new house with a real kitchen now! : )

    What are your thoughts on cooking with coconut oil? I keep wanting to try it, but I have some vague idea that it will make the dish taste like coconuts. However, I’ve also heard it’s amazing for stove popping popcorn, so I may have to buy some. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

