Brunch for dinner

I just got a box full of books from Amazon, including Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Vegan Brunch. See, during 2010, I went dairy-free for a few months to see if it would help decrease my inflammation. The verdict: no change on the inflammation front, but lots of added crankiness because I missed cheese and yogurt. But during those few months, I started experimenting with vegan baking and I’m still really enjoying it. There’s a lot to be said for eating cookie dough or cake batter with 0% chance of salmonella.

I’ve made dozens of cookies and cupcakes and a few cakes over the last couple of months, but I’m still pretty wary of savory baking, vegan or otherwise. Enter the aforementioned book and a recent and inexplicable scone fixation, and I came up with these savory scones scones. They’re based very loosely on Moskowitz’s Tomato Rosemary Scones, with some fairly significant See Food mods.

basic savory scones (makes 8 scones)

ingredients

  • 1.5C white whole wheat flour (or all-purpose, or whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1T baking soda
  • 1/2t sugar
  • 1T thyme
  • 1/2t Garlic Gold (roasted garlic and sea salt)
  • 1/2T Earth Balance
  • 1C almond milk

to do

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and lightly grease a baking sheet (or line with parchment paper)
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl (note: there are a million different spice/herb combos that you could try here, I just stuck with what I had on hand)
  3. Whisk together Earth Balance and almond milk until smooth, then set aside for a few minutes
  4. Make a well in the dry ingredients and slowly pour in the milk mixture
  5. Mix with a rubber spatula or wooden spoon until dry ingredients are just moistened
  6. Turn out dough on a floured work surface and knead until fairly uniform- I had to add a few tablespoons of flour at this point because my dough was pretty sticky
  7. Flatten dough and transfer to greased or lined baking sheet
  8. Cut into 8 triangular slices
  9. Bake for 15-17 minutes – check the tops for firmness and add a few more minutes if you need to
  10. Cool for 5 minutes and enjoy

I had mine with some leftover tofu scramble to keep with the breakfast/brunch theme.

Leave a Reply

