Easter brack

Easter Sunday is a great opportunity to make food. We overslept this morning and didn’t have time to go to the laundromat, so I took advantage and made a more complicated breakfast than usual. It’s not brunch, because I don’t see myself skipping lunch today, but it was late enough that it could replace my morning snack. So it’s brack. My plan was to make apple-cinnamon pancakes. This is something we get at Edesia’s, but I wasn’t in the mood to take a shower, go outside, wait 2 hours for breakfast, and spend a lot of money, so I decided to try it at home. I made oatmeal pancakes (sans banana) and then put baked apples on top. Since it was a special occasion, I actually went a little overboard on mine. I decided to recreate my Almond Joy Oatmeal (oatmeal with some coconut, sliced almonds and a few chocolate chips) in pancake form. It was a little much and didn’t go with the baked apples so well, but I didn’t want to waste food, so I ate it anyway.

Here it is with coffee (it looks teeny but the coconut seemed to make it thicker than usual, so it was pretty hearty):

img_0759.jpg

Note the Easter-appropriate colors.

I feel completely at a loss for what I should do today. The gym is closed. Target is closed. Obviously there’s basketball. And I suppose I could catch up on all the things I’ve been putting off – more cleaning, working on taxes, laundry, writing project for work. Or maybe I’ll take a walk.

Leave a comment