Busy Sunday breakfast

Breakfast is my favorite meal, and Saturdays and Sundays are usually the only days that I have to spend any time cooking it. So, I usually try to be a little more creative and take extra time cooking for us. But today, I woke up wanting a banana oatmeal redux, so I walked to the grocery store and stocked up on produce so that I could make it for us again. This time I got the photo opp on camera:

img_0673.jpg

That’s one of my new bowls from a little shop in Wamego. Matt pointed out that they look like oatmeal, so they’re my new oatmeal bowls. Also featured: new coffee from Emerald City Market called Dorothy’s Dream. It’s Guatemalan Huehuetenango and it’s really good. Nice and light.

Anyway, banana oatmeal for two: bring 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup skim milk to boil. Stir in 1 cup of rolled oats (old-fashioned oats will work, but not the quick-cooking kind), add cinnamon and reduce heat to medium. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring once or twice. Thinly slice a medium banana and stir all or most into the oatmeal after 5 minutes. Add about 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract and a little more cinnamon and stir for about 1 minute. Remove from heat. I saved some of the sliced banana to make Matt’s bowl extra banana-y. So mine probably had about 1/3 of a medium banana in it. That’s just enough though, that you don’t really have to sweeten it. I usually put about 1 tsp of honey in my oatmeal, but this time I didn’t have to.

This is probably the last post for today, as I have a lot to get done today (errands, gym, laundry, cleaning, organizing, Carolina basketball game and some work) and we’ll probably be having leftovers tonight.

Leave a comment